The World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker is the oldest tournament in the world. It was started by Benny Binion, a poker legend who invited seven of the best poker players from around the world to compete for a gold cup. At the time, the event consisted of cash games based on five-card stud, 2-7 low-ball draw, razz, and Texas hold’em. In 1970, Johnny Moss won the first World Series of Poker, beating out seven other players and earning the title of “champion”. In 2002, the tournament was expanded to include a $10,000 prize pool. In 2003, the event was televised by CBS Sports.

This year’s World Series of Poker includes more than 35 circuit events, including the Main Event. Over one hundred tournaments will be held around the world, and the tournament will have more than a million viewers. As the poker industry continues to evolve, the World Series of Poker has adapted and expanded. In addition to traditional live tournaments, the World Series of Poker now includes online events. The main event will be held at the Rio Casino in Las Vegas.

The 2002 WSOP was the first ever televised World Series of Poker event and had 631 entrants. The Main Event was the largest live poker event, and ESPN provided hole card cameras to cover the tournament. Robert Varkonyi won the tournament for the largest prize in WSOP history, and it helped to set the stage for the event the following year. In addition to the Main Event, the WSOP also has various satellite events.

The main event also has a rich history. In 1978, Jack Straus won $8.25 million, despite a lackluster final table. In 1988, Phillip Hilm, who was chip leader entering the final table, was blown out in 15 hands. This meltdown is considered one of the biggest in final-table history. After this event, Hilm quit poker and moved to Florida. However, he has recently returned to the game.

The main event is held every year and the main event is held in July. The field was expanded to 613 competitors this year. The Main Event had the first two $1m payouts, with Carlos Mortenson matching Chris Ferguson’s $1.5 million in 2000. Dewey Tomko earned $1,098,925 in 2001. In the 2011 World Series of Poker Europe, there were eight events. After a three-week break, the tournament was back to a traditional schedule.

In addition to the Main Event, the World Series of Poker is also known as the WSOP. The tournament is the world’s largest poker festival, and features numerous side events and cash games. For the top poker players, the WSOP will award more than $3 billion in prize money. With a tournament for every major poker variation, there is a World Series of Poker tournament for everyone. For more information, visit

Until 2010, the WSOP Player of the Year standings were based solely on performance at the WSOP in Las Vegas. Today, it includes all World Series of Poker events, including the World Series of Poker Europe and the World Championship of Asia Pacific. Despite the difficulty of judging a player’s performance at a WSOP event, anyone can cash in an event. This is a test of skill and patience, and it takes time to repeat this feat each year.